top of page
  • Writer's pictureMcKayla Schutt

“Can I ask how old you are?”

Mary Abshire has been nice enough to let us peak into The Dragon I Fell in Love With. Don't forget to grab your copy after you read your snippet and stalk this PNR author. ;)


Stunned by his words, she stared at him. Had she really heard him say his parents lived over three centuries? “Can I ask how old you are?” She couldn’t resist asking any longer.

“Are you going to freak out if I tell you? Please tell me you’re not going to go crazy from all the information I’ve shared about dragons and my family.”

“No way! I’m absorbing and processing every detail just fine. I’m just a little shocked, but it’s all so amazing to me. I want to know more, but I don’t want to pry. If you don’t want to tell me—“

“I’ll tell you whatever you want to know as long as you promise to keep everything to yourself, and don’t pass out from mental shock.” He collected more food with his fork and stuffed it in his mouth.

“That’s an easy deal. I won’t tell anyone, and I’m not going to go into any mental shock.” She set her utensil on her plate. “How old are you?”

“One hundred and forty-seven.”

“Seriously? Wow, I would’ve guessed about twenty-five, maybe twenty-seven. You hide your age well.”

While he chewed on more food, she continued eating. She couldn’t believe he was over a century old. How could he still look so young? It was on the tip of her tongue to ask.

“Am I too old for you?” he asked.

“What?”

“Am I too old for you?”

She stared at him and lifted a shoulder. “Well, maybe.”

Emotion drained from his face.

She quickly realized he might not think she was joking and placed her hand on his arm. “I’m kidding. Just kidding with you.”

He stared at her hand touching him. Amusement returned to him in the form of a smile.

She quickly removed her hand. “Sorry. I didn’t mean—“

“It’s okay. I won’t breathe fire on you.”

Laughter sprang out of her. She couldn’t help it.

He laughed, too. “You can touch me any time. I don’t mind.”

Heat rushed to her face. There were plenty of places on his body she’d like to feel. Trying to ignore such naughty thoughts, she turned her attention to her plate and resumed eating.


Interested?? Grab your copy below


Stalking time. ;)

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page