top of page
  • Writer's pictureMcKayla Schutt

My friends were willing to fight to save me. Now, I will do the same.

Today we get a sneak peak into a Souls and Shadows Story by Alexa Padgett- Valkyrie's Cloak

“I have to find my friends,” she said, imbuing as much command into the statement as possible. Not much from Liam’s smirk.

“We will. Once we find your mother’s cloak.”

Liv was already shaking her head. “No. Now. Ice giants are violent, nasty. One of them killed Linnea’s mom.” Liv stopped talking long enough to control the quiver in her chin. “There wasn’t much left to bury.”

Liv closed her eyes, not wanting to think how scared Elin must be. Elin was the most sensitive of their group. She wouldn’t be able to withstand the jotun’s vileness long.

Liv leveled Liam with a no-nonsense expression. “My friends were willing to fight to save me. Now, I will do the same.”

“We don’t have time--”

“Make it.”

“There are pieces at play that could shift from our favor--”

Liv narrowed her eyes. “My friends lives matter more to me than the Aesir’s machinations.”

Liam’s mouth settled in a flat line. “I told you, you need to be careful what you say about Odin, All Father.”

Liv stood in one lithe movement ignoring her lightheadedness--everything but the anger burning through her chest. “No,” she said. Her voice matched her body--tense, prepared for battle. “Your precious overlord chose to ignore us, to let our mother’s die doing his bidding, so now? He and you can just wait on your little errand to turn me into a Valkyrie. I’m saving my friends.”

Liam sighed as if the entire world weighed on his shoulders. “You can’t save them unless you are a Valkyrie. That’s why you became one.”


Next we have some answers to our fun questions. ;)

1. Who is your favorite character from your newest release? And why? That's so hard! I love both Liv and Liam. They're equally awesome.

2. How do you balance work and home life? Honestly? I don't. I have three kids at home. They are my priority. I work around them.

3. First Paranormal romance book you read? Hmmm...I don't know if it was my first, but I love Karen Marie Moning's Dark Fever series. I devoured them in about four days.

4. Do you Google yourself? If so did you laugh or find it interesting? Nope.

5. How do you select the names of your characters? I chose their names based on their Norse ancestry. Once I had a list of names, I chose the ones I liked together.

6. If you didn’t write, what would you do for work? My background is in marketing and I worked as a marketing director for a sports agency (which I'll never do again, thank you very much!). Probably I'd go back into content management for websites or return working as a literary agent. I just love books so much.

7. What is your writing Kryptonite? I'm a bit of a pantser--that's not to say I don't plot because I do. But I want my characters to grow and evolve. My biggest problems come when my characters are choosing a path I don't want for them. Or when my kids are home and fighting. That makes writing impossible.

8. Who are you reading now? Nalini Singh's Angel's Blood and William Shakespeare's Measure by Measure

9. Do you have a special playlist for writing? I have a list of about 300 songs that I rotate through. I use these songs because I've heard them so many times, they can blend into the background now. I cannot write with a new song playing. I tend to listen to the song and not concentrate on my work.

10. Last, if you could go back before you published your first book and do it all over again, would you? All the hard parts and easy strides. Absolutely. I love being able to write every day!

Quickfire questions

Black or Purple- Purple

Guy’s POV or Gal’s POV- Gal's POV

Read or Write- Write

Dragons or Wolves- Wolves

Aliens or Shifters- Shifters

Just started your writing career or about to retire- Just started your writing career



Author Links-


Pre-Order your copy today for 99c!

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page