top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelissa Hunter

"Dance with me?"



The song on the radio ended, and the next song began. A popular power ballad began to loop around us, easing the palpable, though enjoyable, romantic energy. Miguel held out a hand. “Dance with me?”

I took his hand and he led me a few feet into the center of the deck, where he placed his hand on my hip. We began to sway back and forth to the music, making a little circle as we danced. I rested my head on his shoulder, and he hummed with pleasure.

The song ended, as all songs must do, but we didn’t part. Instead, we kept dancing, our heart beats in tune with each other.


Getting to know me:

"1. Who is your favorite character from your newest release? And why?"

My favorite character from Excalibur is definitely the narrator, Heather. She thinks in terms of television--she frames the events according to what's going on in the television lineup, compares situations to shows, etc. It made for a great narrative lens.


"2. How do you balance work and home life? "

Not easily. My husband is deployed right now and I'm acting as both mother and father. I write in the margins of my day, but there are days when I don't get any writing done.


"3. First Paranormal romance book you read? "

Twilight. It was a formative book for me. I read it when it first came out in 2005, back before the Teen PNR explosion. It really was a leader.


"4. Do you Google yourself? If so did you laugh or find it interesting?"

No.


"5. How do you select the names of your characters? "

I try to follow these criteria: Matches the character, is distinct from other character names, isn't a weird made-up special snowflake name.


"6. If you didn’t write, what would you do for work? "

I want to be an esthetician one day. I love writing and publishing, but it gets lonely. I'd like to work outside the home when my children are older.


"7. What is your writing Kryptonite? "

Easy access to the internet. I am easily distracted.


"8. Who are you reading now? "

I'm reading several things right now: Bringing Up Boys by Dr. James Dobson, a book about Katherine Howard, and an Alison Weir novel about Jane Seymour.


"9. Do you have a special playlist for writing? "

No, but I do listen to gentle instrumentals to help me concentrate. They're free on Youtube.


"10. Last, if you could go back before you published your first book and do it all over again, would you? All the hard parts and easy strides."

Absolutely. Publishing Battlecry and its sequels was an incredible experience.


Quick Fire Questions:

Black or Purple- Purple

Guy’s POV or Gal’s POV- Gal’s POV-

Read or Write- Write

Dragons or Wolves- Wolves

Aliens or Shifters- Aliens

Just started your writing career or About to retire- Just started your writing career



Check out my book in the boxset



Follow me everywhere:

"https://www.emeralddodge.com


https://emeralddodge.tumblr.com


https://twitter.com/emerald_dodge


https://www.facebook.com/emeralddodgewrites/"


Question Time: What do you want to know from Emerald?

0 views0 comments
bottom of page