top of page
  • Writer's pictureMcKayla Schutt

I’ll atone for my sins and protect what’s mine.- Caden

Today you will get a Character Takeover, Two author interviews and a snip-it so hold on readers. You're about to dive into Caden.


*Caden walks into the room* I am going to murder my brother and leave his body to the freaken vultures. *Sighs* I’m supposed to yammer on about my book, but I’d rather not. See, I did some stupid shit, hurt some people I love, and almost caused my mate to die...twice.

My name is Caden and... I’m an alcoholic.

*Kalkin laughs from the corner of the room* It’s not one of those types of interviews, asshole.

*Caden flips his brother off.* Anyway, that’s what got us here. I have two sons, Nicolas and Aiden, a mate, Danielle, and I lost it all. But, I am going to prove to everyone, I deserve a shot to make this right. I’ll atone for my sins and protect what’s mine.

My past might have caught up with me, but I won’t let it define me anymore.

*Keeley shoves Danielle into the spotlight.* Tell them who you are and why you’re here. *Keeley narrows her eyes at her sister.* And, don’t give me any of that BS, “I have nothing to say, crap.”

*Danielle balls her hands up into tight fists. Seeing Caden here, now, is too much. She needed to get out of there. However, Keeley and her mate, Kalkin, are blocking the door.* I have nothing to say. *Her sister huffs at her.* Well, it’s true. I have nothing. I am nothing. All I want is to be left alone.

Caden broke my heart. Said horrible things about the child I was carrying—his child, and now, he’s on a bender and I’m all alone—just the way I want it. However, I can’t keep going like this. Things are happening in Window Rock, and if I am to survive and protect my children, I have get strong. I don’t need Caden Raferty to make me happy or to feel loved.

*Glares at the man who stole everything from her* He can get bent, for all I care.

Unfortunately, my past is catching up to me and the walls are closing in.

There are links down below so make sure you check out the book or click on the picture for amazon readers.

Since we have two authors for this book you get to see them both answer my questions...*Muha-ha* ;)

TL Reeves

Who is your favorite character from your newest release? And why?

TL: Oooo... good question. I’ll let you in on a secret. I hated Danielle and Caden in the beginning. Neither character would open up. It was like pulling teeth in the beginning. I had already offered to Michele, to kill them off if need be because it was just that difficult. Let me tell you, I am so glad we didn’t go the dead route. It really took us delving into Caden and Danielle to figure out who they were and why they were the way they were. I can tell you, I love both Caden and Danielle now. But my favorite between them is Danielle.


How do you balance work and home life?

TL: Since the kiddo is a junior in high school, I do all of my work in the morning, or late at night when everyone is in bed. It really is a struggle sometimes to find that midpoint. Kiddo has had a few surgeries over the last few years, she’s also starting to go to a rehab clinic for kids, for her ears (she’s hearing impaired) and on those days, it’s a loss for everything. So, I try to do as much as I can when I can. I just never know when something will come up.


First Paranormal romance book you read?

TL: Karen Marie Moning – Darkfever. I am a Mr. Barrons fan.


Do you Google yourself? If so did you laugh or find it interesting?

TL: No. I’m not a big fan of googling myself. But, if you do, you might find some interesting things about me. ;)


How do you select the names of your characters?

TL: Usually, baby name books, but sometimes characters come with names already. (If that makes sense) Totally makes it easier.


If you didn’t write, what would you do for work?

TL: Uh, office mundane stuff. I’ve always done it and did so up until a few years ago.


What is your writing Kryptonite?

TL: Emotional scenes. I shut down and walk away.


Who are you reading now?

TL: James Cox, Addison Caine, and in a couple of weeks, Lora Leigh.


Do you have a special playlist for writing?

TL: Every book has a play list and all of the lists are specific to the tone of the book as well. This is Caden’s.


Last, if you could go back before you published your first book and do it all over again, would you?

TL: All the hard parts and easy strides. Hmm, good question. I think there are some parts I would avoid. Some traps I’d keep myself out of, but I’d still do it. I think in the past ten years, I’ve learned a hell of a lot. Not all of it good mind you. But, I think, I found something I truly love doing. In the beginning I feared I would run out of ideas. Now, I wonder how I am going to get them all done. Lol. I think without the hard parts, there wouldn’t be any good parts. Those hard parts made me the person I am now. I hated some of it, however I am also grateful for it too. So, I guess my answer is yes. I would, only I’d do it a little differently.


Quickfire questions

Black or Purple- Purple, always.

Guy’s POV or Gal’s POV- Both.

Read or Write- Both

Dragons or Wolves- Oooo... both

Aliens or Shifters- Shifters (Just not good at writing aliens.)

Just started your writing career or about to retire- I’m just getting good at this.


Next up on the block. ;)

Michele Ryan

Who is your favorite character from your newest release? And why?

Michele: My favorite character is Caden. Mostly because he’s flawed and far from perfect. It takes him a while to pull his head out of his ass and correct his mistakes.


How do you balance work and home life?

Michele: I don’t. I’m still trying to figure that out. I feel like it’s still a work in progress!


First Paranormal romance book you read?

Michele: Tempting the Beast by Lora Leigh.


Do you Google yourself? If so did you laugh or find it interesting?

Michele: Nope.


How do you select the names of your characters?

Michele: We’re a bit nutty about our names. Most times the names have a hidden meaning either to us or are connected to the story somehow. Sometimes it’s obvious, like in Midnight, which is in the BAD Alpha DAD series. The names we chose for them are all somehow related to Edgar Allen Poe.


If you didn’t write, what would you do for work?

Michele: Sleep? I don’t really know to be honest. I love writing and reading and if needed, I just get a job that would let me do both.


What is your writing Kryptonite?

Michele: I get easily distracted. It doesn’t really help when you add into the mix three kids and a husband. If it’s just me, the computer and the radio, I’m good.


Who are you reading now?

Michele: Nothing right now. We’re currently working on 3 manuscripts at the same time, and I’ve been trying to get the kids ready for back to school. I am waiting for Lora Leigh’s latest Breed book though.


Do you have a special playlist for writing?

Michele: Always! Spotify is our friend. For some reason, music helps me focus.


Last, if you could go back before you published your first book and do it all over again, would you? All the hard parts and easy strides.

Michele: I’d have to say yes. Our first book published together was Unrequited Mate, it works into our Window Rock Universe as we like to call it. We’ve added so much and it’s not in there. I’d love to be able to update it.


Quickfire questions

Black or Purple- Purple

Guy’s POV or Gal’s POV- Depends on the book as we will switch back and forth with each book.

Read or Write- In a perfect world…BOTH!

Dragons or Wolves- Wolves

Aliens or Shifters- Shifters

Just started your writing career or about to retire- Just starting!


Author Links-

Facebook page Twitter: @tl_reeve and @MRyan_Author, Webpage


Now A Snip-it!

“Come here,” he said, motioning her towards him.

“Uh...” She flicked her gaze to the door then to his stuff before landing on him. “I’m not...”

Caden sighed. “I won’t do anything you don’t want me to.”

Jesus, why did he have to be so dang open with her? He didn’t hide his emotions, instead wearing them on his sleeves for her to pick up on. He was being honest with her. Hopeful. It would be rude of her to deny his request. Danielle closed the distance between them. “I’m here now.”

He lifted her with ease, and Danielle gave a soft squeak of surprise. “I’ve got you, pumpkin.” Caden placed her on the island in front of him. “You talked to Mrs. Martin, didn’t you?”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.” Heat filled her cheeks. She’d never really been a good liar. As someone who could read emotions like she could, she never mastered how to hide anything. Keeley affectionately dubbed her a human mood ring.

“Bullshit.” He chuckled, stepping between her opened legs. “She told you all about how us Raferty boys became their wards.” He brushed a short lock of her hair behind her ear. “I’m not embarrassed by it anymore.”

She’d been furious even if he wasn’t. She waited for him to tell her the rest, but when he didn’t, she also didn’t press him either. “You didn’t deserve what happened to you.”

He shrugged off her words. “It’s in the past. I’ve had to reevaluate everything in the last few months.” Caden placed his hand on her thigh and began to caress the flesh, warming it. “I can’t keep being angry at the world for something my parents did. I also can’t keep comparing everyone to them. I also can’t hold you responsible for what happened to Mackenzie and Marjorie.”

Danielle blinked at him. What about what happened to him though? She couldn’t find the proper words to say what she needed to. “I don’t know what to say.”

“Nothing, pumpkin. You have nothing to say. I have to say it.” He gave her a soft smile. “This is my fence to mend, then rebuild the home laying in a heap behind it.”

“Caden...” She lowered her gaze.

“Shh...” He brushed his lips over hers.

She moaned, grabbing his face between her hands. She liked the way his beard tickled her palms as she tilted his head a bit to kiss him better. The first tentative stroke of his tongue over hers had her growing taut. The second unleashed a torrent of pleasure. She’d been the aggressor this time, taking from him. She explored him, allowed his heated taste to linger on her tongue before tangling with his again. Caden gripped her hips as he snarled. The low rumbled growl accompanying it had her clit pulsing. The slickness of her desire covered her slit, and she worried she’d have to change her panties before long.

When Caden reached for the hem of her shirt, she had some reservations of going farther than kissing him. However, all rational fled when he urged her to take his off as well. She missed staring at his tattoos and taking in his beautiful body. Unlike the last time they did this, he waited for her. Allowed her to make the decision on whether she wanted to continue their make out session. A pang of warmth filled her chest.

Determination laced the bit of anxious energy flowing through her. She tugged at his shirt, revealing an inch of his inked skin at a time, until she dropped the offending material on the floor. Caden followed suit, removing her flowing blouse. He raked his gaze over her, causing her already aching nipples to tighten exponentially. Heat filled her cheeks again as a wave of embarrassment filled her. She didn’t have big boobs like Keeley or even full hips. Since she’d woken up, actually seeing herself since being released from the hospital, she’d tried to eat three times a day, but gaining weight would be a long-haul thing. She already had an overactive metabolism.

“Perfect.” Caden groaned while adjusting himself. “Fuck. I could eat you all day.”

He launched himself at her, wrapping his arms around her at the last minute so not to hurt her back on the lip of the island. His mouth claimed hers in a searing kiss. It was all teeth and tongue and desperation. It bubbled up in her, demanding she stop messing around and get naked. She fumbled with the tab of his jeans, silently cursing her shaking hands for not wanting to function properly.

“Hey,” he whispered, nuzzling her cheek. “We have all the time in the world, pumpkin. Easy.”

She whimpered. “Sorry. I don’t know what’s gotten into me.”

Caden chuckled. “Full moon is coming. You feel it. You want what only I can give you.”

Might be true, but he didn’t have to be so smug about it. “I think it’s hormones. Mine are out of whack.”

“Sure.” He kissed her collarbone. The gentle caress of his lips along the bone had her wiggling in place. “It’s all about hormones being out of whack.” He grabbed her hand and placed it on the bulge in the front of his pants. “Do you want to see what happens?”



Now go grab the this book below-


35 views11 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page